Toyin Falola | Professor; Jacob & Frances Sanger Mossiker Chair in the Humanities; University Distinguished Teaching Prof.


He is a Fellow of the Historical Society of Nigerian Academy of Letters. He has received various awards and honors, including the Jean Holloway Award for Teaching Excellence, the Texas Exes Teaching Award, and the Ibn Khaldun Distinguished Award for Research Excellence, and the Distinguished Fellow, Ibadan Cultural Group.

Toyin Falola has published numberous books, including Key Events in African History: A Reference Guide, Nationalism and African Intellectuals, and many edited books including Tradition and Change in Africa and African Writers and Readers. He is co-editor of the Journal of African Economic History,Series Editor of The Cambria African Studies Series, Series Editor of Rochester Studies in African History and the Diaspora, and the Series Editor of the Culture and Customs of Africa by Greenwood Press.

For his singular and distinguished contribution to the study of Africa, his students and colleagues have presented him with three Festschriften - two edited by Adebayo Oyebade, The Transformation of Nigeria: Essays in Honor of Toyin Falola, and The Foundation of Nigeria:Essays in Honor of Toyin Falola, and one edited by Akin Ogundiran, Pre-Colonial Nigeria: Essays in Honor of Toyin Falola. His award-wining memoir, A Mouth Sweeter than Salt, is published by the University of Michigan Press.

Toyin Falola
The University of Texas at Austin History Dept 1
University Station Stop B7000 | Austin, TX 78712


A Pan-African listerv that reaches the entire world, and presents significant debates, data, news, and information about Africa, the African Diaspora, and global events as they relate to Africa.


Pan-African University 
Press represents immediate and long-term efforts at revitalizing and establishing a formidable platform for seminal discourses related to Africa and the African Diaspora. Its purpose is to harness and make available studies in accessible and afforadable formats to all relavant and intrested sholars, teachers, students, policymakers, and the broader reading public, all of whom constitute essintial partners in the task of promoting a new and more accommodating world culture and orders.

Pan African University Press


The Journal of African Humanities and Social Sciences
is group created by Dr.Toyin Falola to make recent scholarship on Africa available to the general public. This site includes author and journal information, as well as information about previous and current issues.


The Yoruba Studies Review seeks to serve as the platform for a new generation of transformative scholarship that is based on cutting-edge research, novel methodologies, and interpretations that tap into the deep wells of Yoruba epistmology and ontology. YSR will also pubish critical review essays, book reviews.



2014 Chieftaincy: The Bobagbimo of Ugboland, November.

2014 Chieftaincy: The Bobapitan of Ibadanland, Ibadan.

Chieftaincy: Mayegun of Auga, Akoko, 2000.

2014 Merit Award (National Association of Students of English and Literary Studies, Nigeria,).

2013 Top Nigerian-American Award, CANAN, New York, September.

2013 The Distinguished Margaret Ekpo Merit Award for Academic Mentorship, Institution
Building and Selfless Service to Humanity (By the Network of Benue and Cross
River Historians, September).

2013 Pro Bene Meritis Award, Faculty of Liberal Arts, University of Texas at Austin.

2012 Topp’s African-Centered Scholar of the Decade Awards (conferred at ATWS meeting,
Berry College, October).

2012 Dean’s Distinguished Scholarship and Leadership Award, Office of Women’s Affair,
Indiana University Bloomington.

2011 Distinguished Africanist Award (African Studies Association).

2011 Africa and the African Diaspora Excellent Leadership Award (IBC, University of Ibadan
and TOFAC)

2011 Distinguished Africana Award (University of North Carolina, Charlotte, April, 2011).

2010 Career Research Excellence Award (University of Texas at Austin).

2010 Nigeria Diaspora Academic Prize.

2009 Mwalimu Julius Nyerere Chair of Modern African History at- Large, Benue State
University, Makurdi, Nigeria.

2009 Africana Studies Distinguished Global Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award, Indiana
University Purdue University Indianapolis.

2009 Ibadan Foundation Award, Ibadan, Nigeria.

2009 Award for Excellence, Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education, Lagos, Nigeria.

2009 International Day Award for Excellence, Langston University.

2008 Quintessence Award, African Writers Endowment.

2008 Distinguished Africana Award, Florida International University.

2007 Honorary Doctorate of Humanities, Monmouth University, New Jersey.

2007 Prémio Africa Brasil, Centro Cultural Africano.

2006 Award of Excellence, Federal College of Education-Abeokuta, Nigeria.

2006 Cheikh Anta Diop Award for Excellence in African Studies.

2006 Udogu Award for excellent teaching, prolific scholarship and humanitarian service
in Africa and its Diaspora, African Studies and Research Forum.

2006 Distinguished Alumnus Award, The ex-students of Obafemi Awolowo University, the
USA chapter.

2006 Distinguished Nigerian Award, the Nigerian Studies Association.

2006 Isese Distinguished Fellow Award of Honor, the Ibadan Cultural Studies, University of
Ibadan, Nigeria.

2005 Fellow of the Historical Society of Nigeria.

2004 Fellow of the Nigerian Academy of Letters.

2004 Ibn Khaldun Distinguished Research Excellence Award.

2004 President’s Distinguished Leadership and Scholarship Award, Association of Third
World Studies.


The University of Texas at Austin

2013 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award

2010 Outstanding Graduate Teacher

2004 Elected to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers

2003 Chancellor’s Council Outstanding Teaching Award

2001 Texas Excellence Teaching Award

2000 Jean Holloway Award for Teaching Excellence


2014 FINALIST - 2014 Albert J. Raboteau Prize for the Best Book in Africana Religions, presented by the Journal of Africana Religions for Yemoja: Gender, Sexuality, and Creativity in the Latina/o and Afro-Atlantic Diasporas.

2010 Nigerian Studies Association Best Book Award, for Colonialism and Violence in Nigeria.

2010 Cecil B. Currey, Honorable Mention Winner, ATWS for Colonialism and Violence in Nigeria.

2005 Winner, Cecil B. Currey Award, Association of Third World Studies for Economic Reforms and Modernization in Nigeria

2004 - 2005 Herskovits Award Finalist, African Studies Association award for best English-language book in African Studies, for A Mouth Sweeter Than Salt

Hamilton Runners-up, (University of Texas Coop) for A Mouth Sweeter Than Salt

2004 Conover-Porter Finalist Certificate, African Studies Association, for Key Events in African History: A Reference Guide.

2003 Choice Outstanding Academic Title for Sources and Methods in African History.


2007 Visiting Professor, Pontifícia Universidade Católica De São Paulo

1999 Carter Visiting Professor, Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts

1995 Fellow, Humanities Research Council, Australian National University, Australia

1989 Life Member, Clare Hall, University of Cambridge, England

1988 Smuts Fellowship, University of Cambridge, England (through 1989)

1989 Project Coordinator, then Consultant, Oral Documentation Project, Nigerian Institute
of International Affairs (through 1990)

1980 United States Education Travel Award, Operation Crossroads Africa